Awards Pages

Here are links to the awards presented by the Martin Luther King Coalition

The MLK Award

The Martin Luther King Award is presented to a New Hampshire resident who carries on work for social justice in the spirit of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

The LWJ Award

The Lionel Washington Johnson Youth Award is presented to students in Grades 5, 6, 7, & 8 (including those home-schooled) throughout the state, to demonstrate an understanding of Dr. King's principles regarding a particular theme based on The Words of Martin Luther King chosen from one of his many moving speeches.

The theme of this year's Arts & Writing Contest: “The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” The deadline for entries is December 20, 2017. For more information, visit:

The VWJB Award

The Vanessa Washington-Johnson Bloemen Award will be given in 2012 by the MLK Coalition to honor our late, lamented Program Director, Vanessa Washington-Johnson Bloemen, who kept the Martin Luther King Coalition operating effectively and efficiently for years. In her spirit, this award is being given to a young person who has shown the qualities of outstanding leadership, commitment to Dr. King's principles of practicing social justice and seeking peace.

Other helpful pages